



# Fisher & Paykel Trophy Interclub Series Rules

## Version 13, 6 April 2022

## 1. The Race

The Fisher & Paykel Trophy is awarded on the results of three weekend races held on dates agreed each year by the Opua Cruising Club and the Russell Boating Club.

The responsibility for organising the first and the third races in the series rotates between the Opua Cruising Club and the Russell Boating Club.

## 2. Racing Rules That Apply

The races are held under the current Racing Rules of Sailing, including all Yachting New Zealand prescriptions, and under these rules and under the sailing instructions of the club responsible for organising the particular race.

Where there is a conflict between these rules and/or the club's sailing instructions and the current Yachting New Zealand Racing Rules of Sailing, these rules and/or the club's sailing instructions shall prevail.

Where there is a conflict between these rules and the organising club's sailing instructions, these rules shall prevail.

## 3. Entry

The races are open to any boat skippered by a current financial member of either the Opua Cruising Club or the Russell Boating Club.

Before the start of the race, each boat must clearly identify which club it is racing for to the Officer of the Day or to the Starter. Failure to do this could result in that boat not having points awarded.

#### 4. Start

At least three boats shall start, or the race shall be abandoned.

All boats shall race in the one division.

Unless agreed otherwise prior to any particular race the start lines shall be the normal club line at Opua when the Opua Cruising Club is the organising club and the normal club line at Russell when the Russell Boating Club is the organising committee.

Each club shall use their usual start sequence and recall procedures.

Start time for each race shall be noon, unless an alternate time for a race is agreed between the clubs.

Course Sheets should be made available to all boats. Course Sheets will include details of the start/finish line, the start sequence, the recall signals and contact details in the event that a boat pulls out of the race.

#### 5. Time Limit

The first boat must complete the course within four and a half hours after the start or the race shall be abandoned.

The finish times shall be taken of all boats finishing no later than quarter of an hour after sunset. Boats finishing after this time shall take their own finishing times.

Any boat that does not finish must inform the organising club as soon as practicable.

As a courtesy, Russell Boating Club will account for all their boats when the finish is at Opua and Opua Cruising Club will account for all their boats when the finish is at Russell.

### 6. Fairway Marks

Yachts, when racing, must pass:

- to the west of Kaiaraara (Mill) Island.
- to the north and west of all rocks off Tapeka Point.
- to seaward of all Black Rocks (which are to the north and east of Moturoa Island up to but not including Flat Island).
- to seaward of all the islands along the northern side of Moturua Island between Kent Passage and (but not including) Flat Island.
- to the south of Pakatahi Island (southern end of Moturua Island).
- to the south of all rocks off the south eastern end of Motukiekie Island.
- to the north of Motutara Islands (northern end of Motukiekie Island, in Army Bay passage).
- to the west of Motukauri Island (northern entrance to Manawaora Bay.
- to the channel side of the OCC start line Outer Distance Mark (ODM) after starting.
- to the channel side of all moorings west of the OCC Start line. These individual moorings west of the start line are hereby defined as obstructions (but not a continuing obstruction).

All moorings to the east of the OCC start line may be ignored (Waikare side). Yachts racing must give adequate room to any yacht in the proximity of moored or anchored boats, or other structures in the water. The clear intention is that we will race in open water, while accepting there are moorings and anchored boats around the racing area to the east of our start line.

## 7. Protests

Any protest must be lodged within one hour after the last boat finishes.

The organising club is responsible for arranging the hearing of the protest as soon as reasonably possible.

Each club shall have equal representation on the Hearing Committee.

The Hearing Committee shall be chaired by a person from the organising club.

# 8. Handicapping

Prior to each race in the season's Fisher & Paykel Interclub Series the handicappers for each club shall meet and agree on handicaps to apply for the races.

### 9. Points

Points for each race shall be based on the positions of the top three finishing boats from each club. The club with the lowest points for the race or series, as the case may be, is the winner.

For each race corrected time positions shall be calculated for all boats in the race. Race points for a club shall be the total of the top three positions achieved in the race by boats from that club. The club winning the particular race shall be the club with the lowest race points.

The series winner will be decided by adding together each club's race points for each of the three races in the series. The club with the lowest total is the winner of the series.

Where a club has 2 boats in a race, its race points shall be the total of the positions of its 2 boats plus points equal to the total number of boats in the race plus 1.

Where a club has 1 boat in a race, its race points hall be the total of the positions of its 1 boat plus twice the points equal to the total number of boats in the race plus 1.

Where the series is tied, the winner of the third race shall win the trophy. If the third race is a tie, the results of the second race shall determine the trophy winner. If both the third and second races are tied, the results in the first race shall determine the trophy winner.

Where each of the three races are tied, the trophy winner shall be determined by the toss of a coin.

## 10. Trophies

The previous holder of the trophy must ensure that the trophy engraving is up to date before handing the trophy to the new winner.

The trophy shall be presented to the new winner at the prize giving held by the previous holder of the trophy.

Version 13. 6<sup>th</sup> April 2022